Lagos Assembly Removes Abiru, Jimoh As Principal Officers

Wale Jagun

Rt. Hon. Mudasiru Obasa, Speaker, Lagos State House of Assembly

Two Principal officers of the Lagos State House of Assembly, Hon. Rotimi Abiru, the Chief Whip, and Hon. Olumuyiwa Jimoh, the Deputy Majority Leader, have been removed from their respective positions.

 The request for their removal, which was contained in the notice for leadership, was read on the floor of the House by the Clerk of the House, Mr Azeez Sanni, on Monday (today).

 According to the Clerk, twenty-six members of the House signed for the removal of the two Principal officers.

 In the same vein, Hon. Moshood Oshun (Lagos Mainland Constituency 2) and Hon. Kazeem Raheem Adewale (Ibeji Lekki Constituency 2) were suspended indefinitely during plenary.

 In announcing the suspension of the lawmakers, the Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa, stated that the House is the hope of the people and the heartbeat of democracy and that it should be well guided.

 “I hereby invoke Section 68 and Section 70 4 (a, b) 2 and 3 of the House rules in respect of gross misconduct, insurbodination and action that can destabilise this House, I hereby move that Hon. Moshood Oshun and Hon. Raheem Adewale be placed on suspension indefinitely,” the Speaker said.

 The two decisions were supported through voice votes by the members present during plenary.

Mr. Sanni stated that the 26 members that signed the letter wished to notify the House “to change the leadership of the House including, Hon. Rotimi Abiru as the Chief Whip and Deputy Chief Whip, Hon. Olumuyiwa Jimoh”.

The removal of the principal officers and suspension of the two members came amidst speculation that there were critical issues that could divide the House and “that more revelations might come in the coming days.”

Meanwhile, the House has announced the death of Mr. Debo Adegbesan, a Principal Legislative Officer on Grade Level 12, who died in the early hours of Monday,  March 9 , 2020, at the age of 37.

The House subsequently adjourned sitting to Tuesday, March 10, 2020.

Related posts

Leave a Comment