Just In: Assembly Confirms 15 Additional Cabinet Nominees For Sanwo – Olu

Kunle Adelabu

-Rejects Egube, Odusote, Akibu

RT. Hon. (Dr.) Mudashiru Obasa, Speaker, Lagos Assembly and Mr Babajide Sanwo – Olu, Governor, Lagos State

The Lagos State House of Assembly has confirmed the 15 new nominees from the 18 names sent to it by the Governor, Mr Babajide Sanwo – Olu, for confirmation as cabinet members for his second term administration.

The statement regarding the confirmation was released on the twitter handle of the House on Thursday.

However, Sam Egube, former Commissioner for Economic Planning and Budget and Engr. Olalere Odusote, former Commissioner for Energy, were rejected for the second time by the Assembly.

Also rejected was Tolani Sule Akibu, a new nominee by the governor.

The Governor had sent the list of the nominees to the Assembly on Monday, following the rejection of 17 nominees out of the 39 that were initially sent for screening.

As at today, a total of 37 nominees havd been confirmed for the Governor to be allotted positions either as Commissioners or Special Advisers, in his Cabinet.

The Chief Whip of the House, Hon. Mojeed Fatai presented the report of the 12-man Ad-Hoc Committee on the screening of the new nominees of the Governor for Commissionership and Special Adviser positions, during the session of the House.

According the release by the Assembly, it said that the House had exercised its constitutional power in confirming the nominees.

“By the constitutional power conferred on this House, we, hereby, confirm the following nominees:

Dr. Afolabi Abiodun Tajudeen – Confirmed
Mr. Oluwaseun Oriyomi Osiyemi – Confirmed
Prof. Akinola Emmanuel Abayomi – Confirmed
Dr. Oluwarotimi Omotola Wahab Fashola – Confirmed
Mrs. Folashade Kaosarat Ambrose-Medem – Confirmed
Mr. Akinyemi Bankole Ajigbotafe – Confirmed
Mrs. Bolaji Cécilia Dada – Confirmed

Mrs. Barakat Akande Bakare – Confirmed
Mr. Olugbenga Omotosho – Confirmed
Mr. Mosopefoluwa George – Confirmed
Dr. Yekini Nurudeen Agbaje – Confirmed
Dr. Olumide Oluyinka – Confirmed
Mr. Abayomi Samson Oluyomi – Confirmed
Dr. Iyabode Oyeyemi Ayoola – Confirmed
Hon. Sola Shakirudeen Giwa – Confirmed

After the confirmation, the Speaker, Rt. Hon. (Dr.) Mudashiru Obasa, directed the Clerk of the House, to convey the list of confirmed nominees to Mr. Governor.

Related posts

Leave a Comment