Lagos Deputy Gov Heads APC Committee For LG Elections

Wale Jagun

Following the announcement of the timetable for the 2021 Local Government elections, the Lagos State Chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC)  has setup a 15 – member committee to come up with modalities and preparation of guidelines for the forthcoming elections.

The APC Spokesman in the state, Mr Seye Oladejo, disclosed this in a statement in Lagos.

The Chairman of the Lagos State Electoral Commission (LASIEC), Justice Ayotunde Phillips (rtd.), had on Wednesday, April 21, 2021, announced that the Local Government elections would hold on July 24.

Other members of the committee, which has the State Secretary of the party, Hon. Lanre Ogunyem as the Scribe, are: the former Deputy Governor of the state, Dr. Idiat Oluranti Adebule; Mr. Ademola Sadiq, State Legal Adviser, Hon. Adewale Oshun; Hon. Daramola Abayomi; Alh. Ganiyu Sadiq; Mr. Ademola Olisa; Mr. Fatai Lasisi; Mr. Adebiyi Kehinde; Mr. Olabode Olaniyan; Mr. S. A. Sekoni; Mr. Tunde Lawal and Mr. Gani Bello.

State APC Chairman, Hon. Tunde Balogun, emphasized the need for  the party to swing into action with the statutory election notices publication by the Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission into the offices of Chairmen, Vice Chairmen and Councilors in the 20 Local Government Councils and 37 Local Council Development Areas of the state.

He stated that the announcement of the elections scheduled for 24th July has ignited political activities in the party with various aspirants canvassing for support.

Balogun also expressed confidence of the party in the ability of the committee to do a thorough job that will further boost the democratic credentials of the party.

In his response, Dr. Hamzat assured the party of living up to expectations and that credible guidelines will be put in place to justify the confidence that the leadership of the party reposed in the committee.

He also assured that the party will present the best candidates that will complement the efforts of the state government in providing the dividends of democracy for the people.

LASIEC Chairman, Justice Ayotunde Phillips (rtd.), while  speaking on the Notice of Election published on Wednesday in Lagos, said that the commission would meet with political parties on Friday  (yesterday) for the release of election guidelines.

According to the guidelines released by LASIEC, campaigns by parties  are expected to begin on April 30 and end on July 22.

Justice Phillips said that the Publication of the Election Guidelines by the commission will hold on April 24 while the conduct of political parties’ primary elections will hold between May 3 and June 2.

In the LASIEC Notice, collection of Nomination Forms by political parties would be between May 4 and June 3, while the display of names of nominated candidates and persons nominating them would hold on June 5.

Names of chairmanship and councillorship candidates would be displayed at the LGs/LCDAs headquarters and ward collation centres respectively.

According to LASIEC, June 11 to June 16 would be the window for withdrawal and substitution of candidates by the political parties, while June 12 would be the period for withdrawal by candidates through their political parties.

Related posts

Leave a Comment