Tokunbo Abiru, Ogunleye, Ogunbanwo Join Race To Replace Late Osinowo

Kunle Adelabu

Mr Tokunbo Abiru, Mr Lekan Ogunbanwo and Prince Rotimi Ogunleye are new entrants into the Lagos East Senatorial contest to replace Late Sen, Sikiru Oshinowo.

The race to fill the vacant Lagos East Senatorial seat at the Upper Chamber of the National Assembly after the death of the former occupant, Late Senator Adebayo Osinowo, is now getting interesting as more aspirants have joined the race.

The race to fill the coveted position has continued to gather momentum on daily basis, particularly in Ikorodu division where more seasoned politicians and professionals are coming out to declare their interests.

Many of these aspirants have also submitted their letters of expression to the All  Progressives Congress (APC) on which platform they intend to realise their aspirations, THE IMPACT gathered.

Among the new entrants into the race are Mr Tokumbo Abiru, the Managing Director, Polaris Bank and former Lagos State Commissioner for Finance, Prince Rotimi Ogunleye, former Commissioner for Physical Planning, Lagos State, and Mr Lekan Ogunbanwo, former General Manager/Permanent Secretary, Lagos Television, are latest aspirants that have shown interest to partake in the bye – election that will be conducted soon by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

They will be joining six others that have already signified their intentions to contest the position on the APC and People Democratic Party (PDP) platforms that are from Ikorodu Division.

It was gathered that Mr Abiru, who is a boardroom guru, has consulted the national leader of the All PProgressives CCongress (APC), Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, as well as other stakeholders within and outside Ikorodu Division regarding his aspiration.

Reliable sources confirmed to THE IMPACT that he visited some leaders during the week in respect of his aspiration.

Former Commissioner for Physical Planning, Prince Rotimi Ogunleye is another new entrant into the race.

The lawyer- turned politician who had also served APC in different capacities before being appointed first as Commissioner for Commerce and Industry, we gathered, has submitted his  letter of expression to the party in Ikorodu.

It was further gathered that he made wide consultations with stakeholders before making his aspiration public on Friday (yesterday).

“After wide consultations, I have decided to make a strong bid to represent the Lagos East Senatorial District in the forthcoming bye election. I, therefore, verily throw my hat in the ring”, Prince Ogunleye declared.

The former Commissioner is a reporter and a former Editor of Daily Times.

Another entrant who recently submitted his letter of expression is Mr Lekan Ogunbanwo, a former top public servant.

Mr Ogunbanwo, who retired from the public service few years ago as a Permanent  Secretary, was reported  to have been showing interest in politics in recent time.

According to report,  the eloquent media personality showed interest in same race during the last electioneering period but did not fully make it public.

The new entrants are joining other aspirants across the East Senatorial District to jostle for the vacant Senatorial seat.

According to sources within the APC, those that  have also submitted their letter of expression to the party in Ikorodu are: Asipa Kaoli Olusanya, Vice Chairman, Lagos East and s former Commissioner, Otunba Ganiyu Olusegun Abiru, Chairman, Ikorodu – Oga Development Association (IKODASS) and a retired Clerk/Permanent Secretary, Lagos State House of Assembly and Hon. Olanrewaju Sunmi Odesanya, one time member, Lagos State House of Assembly and former Commissioner, Lagos State Assembly Commission (LAHACOM).

In the same vein, the Publicity Secretary of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Ikorodu, Mr Femi Adinlewa, informed THE IMPACT that three aspirants from Ikorodu have so far expressed interest to vie for the position on the party’s platform, while there are two others  from Epe and Somolu axis.

According  to him,  the aspirants from Ikorodu are Princess Abiodun Oyefusi, PDP Senatorial candidate in the last general elections, Mr Babatunde Olalere Gbadamosi, former ADP Governorship candidate and Mrs Sadiat Odofin Fafowora.

Related posts

Leave a Comment