OCOSAN Election: Candidates Collaborate For Greater Oriwu College, Old Students’ Association

Kunle Adelabu

Alhaji Arole Muhammed Busari Soyebo and Olola Iluyombo Olusegun Olasunkanmi

Interesting scenario is unfolding in the build up to the 2024 Annual General Meeting/National Elections of the Oriwu College Old Students’ Association of Nigeria (OCOSAN), scheduled to hold on tomorrow (Sunday).

Campaign for the Election slated to hold at the hall of the premier college in Ikorodu Division, was declared opened by the Electoral Committee led by Mr Sikiru Amure, last weekend and expected to end at 11:59pm tonight.

Following the declaration, candidates for different positions have embarked on consultations and campaigns, especially the two candidates that are vying for the position of the National President which is the only position that an election will be conducted for old students to decide on their preferred choice between Alhaji Arole Muhammed Busari Soyebo, an administrator and former Council Manager and Olola Iluyombo Olusegun Olasunkanmi, the outgoing National Deputy President and an insurance expert.

Every other positions are unopposed for the election.

But in a sudden turn of event during the week which has added an interesting angle to the election, all the other candidates that are unopposed seem to have pitched their tents with one of the candidate, Alhaji Arole Muhammed Busari Soyebo, by forming themselves into a team – The Credible Team.

In a campaign poster sponsored by the Greater OCOSAN Concern Forum (GOCOF), the unopposed candidates, as earlier reported by THE IMPACT, promised to use their experience, exposure and resource towards the development of the Oriwu College (now Oriwu Senior and Junior Model Colleges, Ikorodu) and the OCOSAN.

Below is the list of the unopposed candidates for the election which cut across various class sets:

Mr. Oshodi Olakunle (Deputy President)
Hon. Olambiwonnu Olakunle Semiu (Vice President)
Mr. Tijani Wasiu Olalekan (General Secretary)
Mrs. Oladimeji Mutiat Abiodun (Treasurer)
Mr. Wajero Ambrose Olugbenga (Financial Secretary)
Mr. Sholanke Lateef Goriola (Publicity Secretary)
Mr. Abari Ibrahim Abiodun (Social Secretary)
Mr. Shitta Abiodun Olayinka (Auditor)
Ms. Oshodi Olashile Abibat (Welfare Secretary)
Mr. Fatunde Omosola Olawale (Assistant Secretary)

Meanwhile, Olola Iluyombo Olusegun Olasunkanmi, the other candidate for the National President has also been going about his campaign with strength of his class set.

Iluyombo is campaigning on his experience, consistency and promising to use that in steering the foremost old school association.

It is also gathered that Olola Iluyombo few days back petitioned the electoral committee on grounds which our reporter cannot ascertain as at the time of filing this report.

We also gathered that there have been two other counter petitions filled by other candidates against the petition by the Presidential candidate.

The OCOSAN Board of Trustees (BOT), led by Alhaji Ishola Lemomu, outgoing National President, Dr Hameed Olaide Sunmonu, PhD., and the Electoral Committee led by Alhaji Sikiru Amure, have pledged a credible, free and fair election process and seamless transition.

Related posts

Leave a Comment