Oriwu College: Old Students Set To Elect New National Executive Council

Kunle Adelabu

-As Arole, Iluyombo vie for National President’s position

As the two-year tenure of the present Executive Council of the Oriwu College Old Students’ Association of Nigeria (OCOSAN) is gradually winding up, the foremost association is set to elect and constitute another council to run its affairs.

The election into various positions is slated to take place at the 2024 Annual General Meeting of the OCOSAN, holding at the Oriwu Senior and Junior Model Colleges Hall, Ikorodu, on Sunday, January 21, 2023.

Following the screening on Saturday, the Electoral body chaired by Mr Sikiru Amure, a retired Principal, declared the campaign opened same day. The campaign is expected to cease 7.00pm on Saturday, January, 2024, the eve of the AGM/Election.

Many of the outgoing executives were cleared and will be returned unopposed, while some of them, including the National President, Dr Hameed Olaide Sunmonu, PhD., will slug it out with other candidates.

“The Electoral Committee has met with the aspirants for the 2024 NEC election, and has just concluded the Screening Exercise for the various vacant positions in the OCOSAN National Executive Council”, Electoral Chairman said.

“The following ASPIRANTS, after thorough examination of the records and credentials submitted, have been CLEARED to contest for the various posts applied for into the NEC”.

In the only contest of the coming election, Alhaji Arole Muhammed Busari Soyebo, a member of the 1982 set and former Council Manager, will be going to the poll alongside the outgoing National Deputy President, Olola Iluyombo Olusegun Olasunkanmi, an insurance guru, to vie for the position of the National President.

The following are contestants who are unopposed and their positions:

Ms. Oshodi Olashile Abibat (Welfare Secretary)
Mr. Wajero Ambrose Olugbenga (Financial Secretary)
Mrs. Oladimeji Mutiat Abiodun (Treasurer)

Mr. Fatunde Omosola Olawale (Assistant Secretary)
Mr. Abari Ibrahim Abiodun (Social Secretary)
Mr. Shitta Abiodun Olayinka (Auditor)
Mr. Oshodi Olakunle (Deputy President)
Hon. Olambiwonnu Olakunle Semiu (Vice President)
Mr. Tijani Wasiu Olalekan (General Secretary)
Mr. Sholanke Lateef Goriola (Publicity Secretary)

“They are, therefore, given the go-ahead to commence Electioneering Campaign in their respective positions cleared for, with effect from 7:00pm on Saturday 13th January, 2024”, Amure added in in the release.

Related posts

Leave a Comment