Sunmonu, Iluyombo, Olabiwonnu, Others Emerge Oriwu Alumni Association’s National Excos

Kunle Adelabu

Barr. Muyiwa Onbanjo of the 1974/85 Class set administering the oath of office on the newly elected President of the Oriwu College Old Students’ Association of Nigeria (OCOSAN), Alhaji (Dr.) Hammed Sunmonu and other members of the newly constituted OCOSAN Executive Council elected at the old school association’s 2022 Annual General Meeting/Election held at the school hall of the premier college in Ikorodu Division on Sunday.

Alhaji (Dr.) Hammed Sunmonu, Dean, School of Languages, Adeniran Ogunsanya College of Education (AOCOED), on Sunday, January 16,  2022, emerged as the National President of the Oriwu College Old Students’ Association of Nigeria (OCOSAN).

Sunmonu,who is a member of the Oriwu College Class set of 1975-80, was elected as the national chairman of OCOSAN at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the association held at the school hall of the premier college in Ikorodu Division of Lagos State, Southwest, Nigeria.

The 2021 Secretariat report and Statement of account were presented by the Secretary and Treasurer respectively and were seconded by the delegates at the AGM.

Other officers returned as elected after delegates proclaimed them through voice votes, were Olola Olusegun Iluyombo of the 1985/86 set (Deputy President),  Mr. Olakunke Olambiwonnu of the 1991/92 (Vice President) and Mr. Wasiu Tijani of the 1999 set (General Secretary).

Also, Mr. Omoshola Fatunde, who belongs to the 1997 Class set, emerged as the Assistant Secretary, Mr. Abiodun Abari, Class set of 1993, elected as Financial Secretary, Mrs. Mutiat Oseni – Oladimeji, member of the 1988/89, returned as Treasurer and Mr. Kazeem Elemuren of the 1998 set emerged  as the Social Secretary.

Otunba Awomodu, a prominent chieftain of the OCOSAN (right), Elder Sola Awoye, the immediate Deputy National President, Caretaker Committee of the old school association (2nd left) and other chieftains on the high table during the AGM.

Also elected at the AGM were Mrs. Temitope Seriki – Solarin (1984 set) as Welfare Secretary, Mr Lateef Sholanke (2000 set) as Public Relations Officer, Mr Abiodun Shitta (1995) as Auditor and Barr. Tajudeen Anibaba (1988/89) as the Legal Adviser of the Association.

Also at the AGM, the constitution of the association was partially amended to increase the number of elective positions from 10 to 12 which led to the creation of the Deputy President and Welfare Secretary posts.

Elder Sola Awoye, the Deputy National Chairman, Caretaker Committee, OCOSAN, listed the achievements of the Caretaker committee which was constituted in 2021.

“The outgoing caretaker committee came on board last year through the effort of the outgone Executives. It was inaugurated on 10th April, 2021”, he said.

“On the advice of the outgone, executive council, we created some additional posts such as 2nd Vice President and the Welfare Officer.

“Also, under the Caretaker Committee, we compiled the list of all Class sets and their members.

Cross section of delegates at the OCOSAN 2022 Annual General Meeting on Sunday.

“We also created a platform where all executives (Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer)  of all sets can interact with the Caretaker Committee and this enabled us to carry them along in all the decisions reached.

“We also generated about #400,000 within our limited time. This amount we intend to leave in the account for the smooth take off of the in – coming Executives”.

He said that the situation that the Caretaker committee met on ground when it took over was very challenging but that they were able to  resolve some of them.

“Though, it was an interim administration but the situations we met on ground involved challenges that kept the administration longer than contemplated. However, we thank God that some of these challenges have so far been reasonably addressed and we hope that the incoming administration shall keep up the tempo”, he said.

Cross section of delegates at the AGM.
Members of the Class set of 1994/95 in group photograph at the AGM/Election.
Registration point at the AGM.

Related posts

Leave a Comment