Igbogbo/Bayeku LCDA Gets 18 New Laws 18 Years After Creation

Kunle Adelabu

Hon. Alimi Nurudeen, the Council Leader, Igbogbo/Bayeku Local Council Development Area (2nd right) presenting the new bye – laws to the Chairman of the council, Builder Sesan Daini (2nd left). With them, Hon Olowu Wasiu Adedayo, the Majority Leader of the House and Chairman of the House Committee on Ethics, Rules, Business and Privilege (left) and Hon. Ashafa Olalekan O., the Deputy Council Leader and representing Ward C1.

The Chairman of the Igbogbo/Bayeku Local Council Development Area (LCDA) in Ikorodu Division, Lagos State, Southwest, Nigeria, Hon. Sesan Daini, has signed 18 bills into bye – laws, making them the first set of laws made by the council 18 years after its creation.

The laws, titled, ‘Ikorodu Local Government, Igbogbo/Bayeku Local Council Development Area 2020 Bye – Laws”, was assented to by the Chairman at a presentation held at the council Secretariat on Thursday, January 14, 2020.

The Legislative arm of the council, led by the Council Leader, Hon. Alimi Nurudeen A., THE IMPACT gathered, had passed the laws on August 7, 2020, and sent them to the council chairman for his assent.

The 61 – page bye – laws, which will regulate the activities of the council created in 2003, are Naming of streets & Numbering of Houses Bye Law No. 1, 2020, Environmental Sanitation Bye – Law No.2, 2020, Market Regulations Bye – Law No 3, 2020, Corporate Business Jurisdiction Permit Bye – Law No 4, 2020, Canopy & Extension on Building No 5, 2020 Cutting of Tarred Road Bye – Law No. 6, 2020 and Parking and Control of Traffic One – Way Bye – Law No. 7, 2020.

There are also Prohibition of Consumption of Alcoholic in Motor Parks, Garage and Terminals Bye – Law No. 8, 2020, Radio and Television Licenses Bye – Law No. 9, 2020, Control of Kiosks, Workshops and Private Lock-Up Shop Permit Bye – Law No. 10, 2020, Haulage (Loading & Offloading) Bye – Law No.11, 2020, Liquor License Bye – Law No. 12, 2020 and Food Stuffs and Regulated Premises Bye – Law No. 13, 2020.

Others are Identification of Body Jacket on Motorcycles/Numbering of Tricycles/Cabs and Road Traffic Bye – Law No. 14, 2020, Prohibiting Trading Around the Perimeter Fence of Primary Schools within igbogbo/Bayeku Local Council Development Area Bye – Law No 15, 2020, Local Waterways Transportation Bye-  Law No. 16, 2020, Regulation of Warehouse/Dish and Meat/Workshop in Igbogbo/Bayeku Local Council Development Area Bye – Law, No. 17, 2020 and the Regulation of Security In Igbogbo/Bayeku Local Council Development Area Bye – Law No 18, 2020.

The bye – laws were drafted by the Business/Ethics /Privilege and Information Committee of the Igbogbo/Bayeku LCDA Legislative House led by the Majority Leader, Hon.Olowu Wasiu Adedayo with Hon. Ashafa Olalekan O., representing Ward C1, Hon. Arowolo Mathew K., representing Ward C4, Hon. Kolejo Monsuru A., representing Ward C5 and Mr Shoga Cyril, the Clerk of the House and the Secretary to the committee.

In a chat with Hon. Nurudeen Alimi, the Council leader, he said that he feels great because the bye – laws are in fulfillment of the primary duty of the Councilors of Igbogbo/Bayeku LCDA as lawmakers.

 “I am feeling very great because the completion of this task signifies efficiency and efficacy of a tenure run by a lawmaker, be it at local government, state or at federal level. Reason being that, completing a bye law is fulfilling the primary role of a legislator”, he told THE IMPACT.

 “It shows the cohesion between the executive and legislative arms. Laws made by legislators are tools needed by the executive to promote growth and development in the council or state or federal.

Signatures of the Council Leader, Clerk of the House and that of the Council Chairman on the Bye – Laws.

 “We are planning to take legislative business at Igbogbo/Bayeku Local Council beyond ordinary imagination”, Hon. Alimi added.

 Hon Olowu Wasiu Adedayo, the Majority Leader of the House and Chairman of the House Committee on Ethics, Rules, Business and Privilege, also speaking on the laws, said:

 “As the chairman of the committee (that prepared the bye – laws). I’m highly happy for the success of the completion of the bye-laws, as one of our primary assignments is to make laws that will better the lives of Igbogbo/Bayeku citizens.

“I can authoritatively tell you that the Fourth Legislative Council of Igbogbo/Bayeku LCDA has been able to make laws for the council, aside from the inherited laws from Ikorodu Local Government since its creation”, he added.

He thanked his colleagues for the success of making set of laws for the council.

“I must thank my colleagues for sponsoring various bills that will better and enhance the growth of the council. Special thanks to the members of my committee. I also commend the role of the executive chairman of the council, Bldr. Sesan Daini, for his unreserved efforts in making this come to pass. I must as well commend the efforts of the legal department, management and entire staff of Igbogbo Bayeku LCDA.

“A special thank to the Clerk of the House who also doubled as the secretary of the committee of the Bye-laws draft and the entire staff of the legislative Council”.

The Majority Leader said that the current set of Councilors of the council have been able to give Igbogbo/Bayeku LCDA set of new laws since her 18 years of existence.

“The fourth legislative Council, ably led by Hon Nurudeeen Alimi, has fulfilled its primary assignment and the council can be proud of the bye-laws that we made in this legislative session, the first of it kind since the inception of the council”, he said”.

 It would be recalled that the Igbogbo/Bayeku Legislative Arm had, on Tuesday, February 18, 2020, organized the first-ever public hearing in the history of the council where the proposed bills were presented to the public for inputs.

Related posts

Leave a Comment