Award – Winning Teacher, Agnes Elusakin Takes Over From Akeem Bello As Principal, Oriwu College Ikorodu

Kunle Adelabu

Mrs Agnes Elusakin, new Principal, Oroiwu Senior Model, Ikorodu

Mrs Agnes Elusakin, former Principal, Community High School, Bayeku in Igbogbo/Bayeku Local Council Development Area (LCDA) and a national and state award winning tutor, will take charge of the Oriwu Senior Model College, Ikorodu, after the retirement of the current Best Principal in Nigeria, Mr Akeem Oladimeji Bello, exit officially from the premier school in Ikorodu Division, today.

The retiring Mr Bello clocked 60 years on January 7, which is also his official terminal date in the service of the Lagos State Government.

Ekusakin, THE IMPACT gathered has since resumed as the Principal of Oriwu Senior Model College, Ikorodu, one of the best secondary schools in Nigeria, was the Overall Best Teacher in Nigeria in 2019, and incidentally won the Presidential award while she was with the Oriwu Senior Model College, Ikorodu as a teacher.

Although, the new principal is resuming as Principal at the Oriwu Senior Model College, with accolades and honours, she is, however, faced with the great task of maintaining and sustaining the academic excellence, tradition and culture of honours in Oriwu College, as well as making the school a reference point as done by Alhaja Abiodun Sheryl Ogunniyi who took the premier school to the zenith and the feat sustained by her successor and outgoing principal, Mr Akeem Bello.

Mrs Elusakin was hosted and honoured by the House of Representatives in Abuja, facilitated by Rep Babajimi Benson who is representing the Ikorodu Federal Constituency, and the Governor of Lagos State, Mr Babajide Olushola Sanwo – Olu among others.

The award – winning Principal was presented with a brand new car and a certificate by the Federal Government, for her feat and a three-bedroom apartment by the Lagos State Government, two years after.

Three years after winning the Best Presidential Teacher Award of the Year, Elusakin, as the Principal of the Community Junior Secondary School, Bayeku in Igbogbo/Bayeku LCDA, also won the ‘National Productivity Order of Merit Award.’

She was conferred with the honour alongside other Nigerians including the Chairman of Globacom, Mike Adenuga; Lagos State Commissioner for Health, Dr Akin Abayomi; the late Dr Ameyo Stella Adadevoh, who died from the Ebola virus and the Secretary to the Federal Government, Mr Boss Mustapha, among others, by President Muhammadu Buhari at the 2022 National productivity award ceremony held in Abuja, last Thursday.

The National Productivity Award, according to President Buhari, was designed to stimulate productivity consciousness, reward innovation, dedication and hardwork among Nigerians across fields of endeavours.

Thus, Mrs Elusakin, within three years, won two different Federal Government awards, the feats that are rare among Nigerian teachers.

Also, Mrs Elusakin was honoured with a Special Recognition Award by the Oriwu College Old Students’ Association of Nigeria (OCOSAN) at an award dinner/grand finale ceremony of the 70th anniversary of the premier College, held at the Ikorodu Musical Village along Awolowo Way, Ikorodu on Friday, November 1, 2019.

In same year, she was honoured with an Award of Excellence and gift items by the Comrade Olufemi Fakolade led Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT), Ikorodu branch.

Related posts

Leave a Comment