President Tinubu Nominates Justice Abiru, 10 Others For Supreme Court

Kunle Adelabu

Honourable Justice Habeeb Adewale Abiru

The President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Bola Ahmed Tinubu, has nominated the Ikorodu – born Justice of the Appeal Court, Honourable Justice Habeeb Adewale Abiru for confirmation as a Supreme Court Justice.

Tinubu sent his name with 10 others to the Senate for screening and confirmation.

Others are Hon. Justice Jummai Hannatu Sankey; Hon. Justice Chidiebere Nwaoma Uwa; Hon. Justice Chioma Egondu Nwosu-Iheme; Hon. Justice Haruna Simon Tsammani; Hon. Justice Moore Aseimo A. Adumein; Hon. Justice Obande Festus Ogbuinya; Hon. Justice Stephen Jonah Adah; Hon. Justice Jamilu Yammama Tukur; Hon. Justice Abubakar Sadiq Umar, and Hon. Justice Mohammed Baba Idris.

The nominees were earlier cleared by the National Judicial Council (NJC), who recommended them to the President.

glowfux advert 2023

The President of the Senate, Godswill Akpabio, made the announcement while reading the letter addressed to the Senate by President Tinubu on the floor of the Red Chamber on Wednesday.

The NJC also recommended the appointment of one Justice of the Court of Appeal, six Heads of Courts and 26 other judicial officers.

With the appointments and if confirmed by the Senate, the apex court will have the full complement of 21 Justices as envisaged by the Constitution for the time in the history of the apex court.

Related posts

Leave a Comment