Oriwu College 2000 Set Reunites, Gets New Excos

Kunle Adelabu

Comrade Lateef Sholanke (Arizona), the outgone Chairman of the OCOSAN 2000 Class set (3rd left) handing – over documents to Akinlabi Yusuf, the new Chairman (3rd right) and his team at the Reunion/Handing – over ceremony held in Ikorodu on Sunday.

Members of the 2000 Class set of the Oriwu College Old Students’ Association of Nigeria (OCOSAN) have inaugurated a new executive council that will steer the ship of the association for the next two years.

The new executives, led by Akinlabi Yusuf as Chairman, were sworn into office at the Reunion Party/Handing – Over ceremony of the set held at 30, Oshikoya street, Anibaba, Ikorodu, on Sunday, January 9, 2022.

Other members of the newly inaugurated executive council are Mrs Hassan Toyin (Vice Chairman). Okafor Okechukwu (Secretary), Alwajud Olutosin (PRO), Okafor Nwabunwanne (Financial Secretary), Nimat Kuti (Treasurer), Solebo Afeez (Welfare) and Alara Habeeb (Auditor).

In his acceptance speech, Mr Akinlabi thanked members for the mandate given to him.

While commending the immediate past executives, he pledged that the present council will see to the execution of the set’s project in their old school.

Members of the OCOSAN 2000 Class set cutting the reunion cake.

“I want to appreciate all our members, especially the founding members of the association. They came on board at a period when there was no encouragement in holding offices.Today, they have succeeded in laying the foundation for us to build upon”, the chairman said.

“We are coming with three agendas to implement. We are taking a bold step to continue from where the past administration stopped.

“We are going to pursue the laundering space project started by the outgoing executives. The project cost is N1.3million and they have been able to raise over N300, 000.00. Our aim is to see to it that we achieve the project in our time”, he said.

 Mr Sholanke Lateef, the immediate past chairman, speaking with THE IMPACT, thanked entire members of the set for their support since 2018 when he was elected to steer the ship of the association.

 “Back in 2018, we started steering the leadership of our great union, OCOSAN 2000 Class set, after a voice vote from all members present at the reunion held on the 7th of January 2018”, he recalled.

Alhaji Sikiru Amure, a chieftain of the national OCOSAN (middle) cutting the Reunion cake with Mr Akinlabi Yusuf, the new Chairman, OCOSAN 2000 Class set and members of his executive council.
Presentation of a Meritorious Service Award to Comrade Lateef Sholanke, the immediate past Chairman of the set.

“Today, our leadership is stepping aside after completing two terms in managing the affairs of our great union and the new executives will be taking charge of the leadership by God’s grace.

“I want to specifically appreciate all the outgone executives for their selfless services to the union and l want to advise the new executives to be more committed and dedicated to the affairs of the association.

“I also appreciate all members of OCOSAN 2000 set (both home and abroad) for their total support and cooperation throughout the years. May God Almighty continue to strengthen and bless you all”, Sholanke said.

On the achievements of his administration, Sholanke said:

“We installed over 13 ceiling fans in Biology, Chemistry and Physics laboratories.We also organized a seminar on entrepreneurship on the use of information technology for the students”, he said.

Mr Akinlabi Yusuf, the new Chairman addressing members at the Reunion party.
Mr Kutere Razak, former Social Director (2nd right) receiving award from Comrade Lateef Sholanke, the immediate past Chairman (right).

“We also initiated Laundry space project for the female students in our old school and we have already raised part of the money”, he added.

The outgone executives,  led by Sholanke Lateef as Chairman, were presented with Meritorious Services Awards, while two members of the association were also presented with Meritorious Awards.

Some of the guests at the Reunion party were Alhaji Sikiru Amure, a chieftain of the National  Executive Council of OCOSAN and Kunle Adelabu, also a member of the national body.

Mr Lateef Sholanke (right) presenting a Meritorious Award to Mr Olufemi Idowu, a member of the set (2nd right) at the Reunion party.
Members of the set at the Reunion party.

Related posts

Leave a Comment