Oba Shotobi Mini-Marathon’s Organisers Extend Route To 10Km, Announce Progresses


-Release time-table for 2019 edition

Hon. Sanai Agunbiade, the Majority Leader of the Lagos State House of assembly and sponsor of thye annual race (l), Affigbo Esther. winner of the 2018 edition of the race (2nd l), Oba Kabiru Shotobi, the Ayangbure of Ikorodu (3rd l) and Mr Oluwatoyin Gafaar Bolowotan, the Director-General, Lagos State Sports Commission (r) unveiling the logo for the 2019 edition’s of Oba Kabir Shotobi Independence Day Mini-Marathon at the Ayangbure palace

Youth athletes from secondary schools across the six Local government and Local Government Development Areas (LCDAs) in Ikorodu Division of Lagos State, Southwest, Nigeria, are expected to cover 10km in this year’s edition of the annual Oba Kabir Shotobi Independence Day Mini-Marathon.

According to the Chairman, Planning Committee of the race, Mr Akeem Bello, this year’s edition, which is the fifth in the series,  is tagged, “Marathon of Grace”.

The annual event is being sponsored by the Majority Leader, Lagos State House of Assembly and Opomulero of Ikorodu Kingdom, Hon. Sanai Agunbiade.

The race started in 2015 with participants covering 6.5km while 7.3km was covered in the second edition.

Participants in the annual race, which was designed to detect young talents in the long distance race in Ikorodu and positively engaged youths, ran 7.5km in the 2018 edition .

Announcing the route at the unveiling ceremony of the logo for this year’s edition, which was held at the Ayangbure palace in Ikorodu, Mr Bello, stated that :

“The route for this year’s competition will be 10Km.

“Participants for 2019 race will start from the Aayngbure palace to Etunrenren Street –Zenith Bank Road – Lowa Estate – Jumofak – Lagos Road – Sabo Roundabout – Kokoro Abu – Awolowo Road –Ota Ona – Obun Ale –Ita Elewa – Ireshe Road – Sheriff Junction –Igbogbo Road. The finish point is Police Barracks Playing Ground along Igbogbo road, Ikorodu”,  he stated.

Mr Bello also announced the timetable for the collection and submission of forms and medical checkups among others.

“We are here today, August 2, at the Ayangbure palace for the unveiling of the 2019 logo.

“This is going to be followed by collection of forms between September 9 and 18, 2019, at the Hon. S. O. B. Agunbiade’s Constituency Office from 9:00 AM to 5:00 pm daily.

“Medical fitness screening for all participants is slated between 18th and 25th of September at the Hon. Agunbiade’s Constituency Office from 10:00am to 4:00 pm daily”.

Asa festival 2019

According to him, the list of medically fit participants would be released and pasted at the Hon. Agunbiade’s Constituency Office starting from September 27th and participants are enjoined to check their status.

As part of events scheduled for this year’s race , past winners of the competition that are gradually gaining state, national and international recognition would unveil the route on September 27th, by 2pm at the Ayangbure palace.

“The Independence Day Marathon is a unique event which the people of Ikorodu Division look forward to as we have recorded notable progress in the participation of athletes between the ages of eleven (11) and sixteen (16) years, drawn from both public and private schools in the division”.

He stated that past winners of the race have moved on to make mark in competitions at the State level while also adding that participation has progressively increased every year.

“We started in 2015 with ninety-two (92) participants, among which were Shakiru Sodiq from Oriwu Senior Model College, Ikorodu, who came first in the male category and Olayinka Boluwatife of Shams-El-Deen Senior Grammar School, Ikorodu, who came first in the female category.

“Boluwatife went on to participate in the IBILE Games and won Bronze medal”, Mr Bello stated.

“In 2018, 409 students registered and Peter John of His Touch School, Ikorodu, and Affigbo Esther of Luwasa Senior High School, Ijede, came first respectively in both categories.

“Affigbo Esther then went on to win Bronze medal in the 2018 Lagos Access City Marathon”.

He stated further that the organisers are working with the relevant government agencies for the approval and inclusion of the annual sporting event in the State Sporting Calendar and to ensure a successful race.

“The committee is working with relevant government agencies for the approval of the competition and also collaborating with other agencies on security, medical and the officiating of the event.

“We are happy to announce that the Lagos State Sports Commission has pledged its full support, through its Director-General, with the assurance that the competition will be adopted by the Lagos State Government in the future”.

The chairman of the organizing committee also announced that there would be cash, medal and other gift items for the winners and other participants in this year’s race.

“As usual, there will be trophies to be won by schools, medals and cash prizes to be won by athletes with consolation prizes for forty (40) athletes and certificates of participation for all the athletes who take part in the competition”, he stated.

Related posts

Leave a Comment