Oshoala Wins Sixth Women’s CAF Player of The Year Award

Kunle Adelabu

Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala at the CAF award gala in Morocco

Super Falcons striker, Asisat Oshoala, has won a record sixth African Women’s Player of the Year Award.

She was declared the winner at the gala held at Marrakesh, Morocco on Monday.

Oshoala, who plays club football for Barcelona, beat South Africa’s Thembi Klagtlana and Zambia’s Barbara Banda to the award.

The Barcelona Femeni star was also a 2023 Ballon d’Or nominee.

Oshoala since 2014 when she first won the top football award, had also gone ahead to emerged winner of the prestigious award in 2016, 2017, 2019, 2022 and 2023.

Another Nigerian, Victor Osimhen was crowned the 2023 African Men’s Footballer of the Year in for his efforts for the Super Eagles and Napoli.

glowfux advert 2023

2023 CAF Awards Winners List

 -Men’s Player of the Year: Victor Osimhen (Napoli and Nigeria)

 -Women’s Player of the Year: Asisat Oshoala (Barcelona and Nigeria)

 – Men’s  Coach of the Year: Walid Regragui (Morocco)

  -Women’s Coach of the Year: Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

  -Men’s National Team of the Year: Morocco

  -Women’s National Team of the Year: Nigeria

  -Men’s Goalkeeper of the Year: Yassine Bounou (Al-Hilal and Morocco)

  -Women’s Goalkeeper of the Year: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC and Nigeria)

 – Men’s Young Player of the Year: Lamine Camara (Metz and Senegal)

  -Women’s Young Player of the Year: Nesryne El Chad (Lille and Morocco)

  -Men’s Club of the Year: Al Ahly (Egypt)

  -Women’s Club of the Year: Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

   -Men’s Interclub Player of the Year: Percy Tau (Al Ahly and South Africa)

   -Women’s Interclub Player of the Year: Fatima Tagnaout (AS FAR and Morocco)

Related posts

Leave a Comment