LASG Reinstates Sacked LASPOTECH ‘NASU 4’

Kunle Adelabu

Comrade Semiu Akinlawon Fasasi, former Chairman, LASPOTECH who was reinstated back into the service of the institution with other three staff.

The Lagos State Governor, Mr. Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu, has approved the reinstatement of four Non-Academic Staff Union (NASU) members dismissed from the Lagos State Polytechnic (LASPOTECH).

The four dismissed union leaders were sacked by the former administration of Mr Samuel Sogunro, the immediate past Rector, during the face-off of the unions against the then maligned administration in 2019.

According to a statement by the Director, Information and Public Relations, LASPOTECH, Mr Lanre Kuye, he said that the pronouncement was made by the Special Adviser on Education to the Governor of Lagos State, Mr. Tokunbo Philip Wahab, on Friday, 11th February, 2022.

The reinstated members of staff are Mr. Semiu Akinlawon Fasasi, former Chairman, NASU, Mrs Yemisi Olabisi, Secretary, NASU, Mrs. Muinat Shittu Ibrahim and Mrs. Abisola Afolabi.

“The Ag. Vice Chancellor of the Lagos State University of Science and Technology (LASUSTECH), Dr. Oluremi Nurudeen Olaleye broke the news during a town hall meeting held earlier today at the Ikorodu Campus of the Institution”, he said.

While appreciating the State Governor for the consideration of the union leaders’ reinstatement, he also expressed appreciation to the Governor for his commitment towards staff welfare, prompt payment of salaries and general development of the institution.

Members of the institution had on Wednesday embarked on peaceful a protest to the Council Chamber during the meeting of the Governing Council to demand among other things, the reinstatement of the ‘NASU 4’.

Related posts

Leave a Comment